IBC2023 Innovation Awards Winners

Celebrating collaboration in technology and creativity

The IBC Innovation Awards took place in IBC’s Premier Lounge at 18:00 CEST on Sunday, 17 September and were open to Premium Pass Holders and Invitation Only.


Read the full story

Content Creation Award Winner


bbcThe BBC and partners for the world’s largest pop-up 5G standalone non-public network for live broadcast contributions using shared spectrum, deployed for the Coronation of HM King Charles III.

Partners: Neutral Wireless, StrathSDR (University of Strathclyde), BBC R&D, BBC News, LiveU, Sony, Haivision, Amarisoft, AW2S, Alpha Wireless

IBC Innovation Awards Chair of Judges Fergal Ringrose said“To be honest this was an outstanding entry right from the start of judging, due to the breakthrough level of innovation to deploy a large-scale standalone non-public network at such a high demand density environment as the Coronation of HM King Charles II, facilitating live news contributions for multiple broadcasters and involving multiple tech partners – without changing the contribution workflow. An ambitious, industry-leading, innovation and collaboration project.”

Content Distribution Award Winner

Sky Group

SkySky Group cloud-native software playout platform for the origination of linear content TV channels across European territories.

Partners: Sky Group Content and Experience, Sky Group Content Technology and Innovation, BCNEXXT, Techex, Squared Paper

IBC Innovation Awards Chair of Judges Fergal Ringrose said, “Such an ambitious project, to migrate Sky Group playout across Germany, Italy and the UK to a truly cloud native software platform with a unique approach to broadcast playout, managing complexity at the render stage. The judging panel recognised Sky Group’s ambition and collaboration with tech partners, directly leading to increased speed to market, improved security and sustainability, and the creation of a leaner less stressful operational environment.”

Content Everywhere Award Winner


KanKAN, which changed the way Israel watches World Cup Qatar 2022 and Eurovision 2023 with Sport BUFF real-time interactive engagement.

Partners: Sport Buff

IBC Innovation Awards Chair of Judges Fergal Ringrose said, “Looking back at my hand-written notes on first seeing this project entry, I found a one-word summary: ‘perfect!’ As in a ‘perfect’ example of a collaboration, between KAN and Sport BUFF, to revolutionise the way viewers participated in live feeds and studio discussions for Qatar 22 and Eurovision 23. And it worked: across both events KAN delivered an innovative engaging experience to over 18 million viewer sessions and 950,000 unique viewers, with BUFF directly increasing audience watch times up to 298%. A game-changing, collaborative, innovation journey.”

International Honour for Excellence Award

Winner: Warner Bros. Motion Picture Group

The IBC2023 International Honour for Excellence (IHFE) Award, its most prestigious award, goes to Warner Bros. Motion Picture Group on the 100th anniversary of its founding by Albert, Sam and Jack Warner. The IHFE is one of a series of special IBC awards celebrating the very best in innovation and change in media and entertainment. The award will be presented at the IBC Innovation Awards ceremony in IBC’s Premier Lounge at 18.00 CEST on Sunday, 17 September.

Warner Bros

Special Recognition of Lasting and Transformative Innovation

As the IHFE honouree, Warner Bros. Motion Picture Group epitomises the ability to continually adapt to media and entertainment market changes. Beginning as a pioneer in cinema, the company has since emerged as a leader in every aspect of the entertainment industry – from feature film, television and direct-to-consumer production to animation, comic books, video games, consumer products, themed entertainment, studio tours and brand licensing. Warner Bros.’ vast library, one of the most prestigious and valuable in the world, consists of more than 145,000 hours of programming. The studio is also home to one of the most diverse portfolios of adored franchises in the world, including Looney Tunes, Wizarding World, DC, Friends, Game of Thrones, Hanna-Barbera and many more.

“Warner Bros. Motion Picture Group has been a leading creative force in media and entertainment since its inception 100 years ago and remains an industry trailblazer,” said Crimp. “Warner Bros.’ work has had a profound impact on our industry and society over the last century and continues to do so today, shaping our culture and our understanding of the world around us through its films, television programming and other productions.”

Michael De Luca and Pam Abdy, Co-Chairs and CEOs of Warner Bros. Motion Picture Group, said in a statement: “We are delighted to accept IBC’s International Honour for Excellence award in the studio’s 100th year. Warner Bros. has always been at the forefront of the industry because of its commitment to innovative storytelling and we want nothing more than to continue that legacy. The success of Barbie is a fantastic example of this because not only is it a great story, but it means something to people and has an impact on societies and cultures globally. We look forward to another hundred years of best-in-class movies told by incredible storytellers, who have created countless stories that have inspired a century, as well as a new generation of visionaries who we are excited to see take Warner Bros. to new heights.”

Special Award for Innovation


Winner: German DVB-I Pilot

IBC has further announced the winner of the 2023 Special Award for Innovation, the German DVB-I Pilot – an initiative bringing together multiple stakeholders from the German media industry, including broadcasters, device manufacturers, software providers and research institutions. The project aims to advance the DVB-I standard to enable the ongoing use of linear TV programming.
The organisations involved included: ARD (Association of Public Broadcasting Corporations in the Federal Republic of Germany), Bayerische Medien Technik GmbH, Dolby Laboratories, DVB Project, European Broadcasting Union, Fraunhofer FOKUS, LG, Media Broadcast, MIT-xperts, ProSiebenSat.1 Media, OnScreen Publishing, Rundfunk Berlin-Brandenburg (RBB), RTL Deutschland, SES, Sofia Digital, Sony Corporation, TARA Systems, TP Vision, Vestel, WDR (Westdeutscher Rundfunk) and ZDF (Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen).

Best Technical Paper

For their work on deploying a 5G standalone non-public network at the coronation of King Charles III, Mark Waddell, Ian Wagdin, David Butler (BBC), Sam Yoffe, Kenny Barlee, Douglas Allan, Malcolm Brew, and Robert Stewart (University of Strathclyde and Neutral Wireless) will receive the Best Technical Paper Award. The committee and IET found the paper to be exceptionally well-written and materially relevant to the media industry, sharing valuable technical insight. This year’s other Technical Papers will also be presented at the conference.

Winner: 5G standalone non-public network at King Charles III’s coronation

For another honour being presented at the Innovation Awards ceremony, experts from the IBC Technical Papers Committee and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) have chosen the paper they feel, on peer review, represents the most impressive piece of work being presented at this year’s IBC Conference (15 and 16 September).


Social Impact Award Winners

Changemaker Award Winner

Contact Us

If you have any questions regarding the IBC2024 Awards, please do not hesitate to contact  awards@ibc.org