2017 Award Winners 

The IBC Awards cover a wide variety of areas, celebrating everything from exceptional stand design on the IBC Exhibition showfloor to innovative thinking and research in our conference papers; and from creative collaborations between technical partners and end users to special honours awarded at the Judges' discretion.

Innovation Awards: Content Creation 

The Innovation Award for Content Creation went to Groupe Média TFO.

Groupe Média TFO Vice President Technologies & Optimisation Éric Minoli said: “What an honour as a not-for-profit broadcaster and content creator to win this IBC Innovation Award in 2017."

”This recognition is a real game-changer for us; it gives us the strength to continue reinventing ourselves! I firmly believe that Groupe Média TFO is an essential actor and a model of innovation.”

Innovation Awards: Content Distribution 

The Innovation Award for Content Distribution went to VOOT.

Senior Vice President and Head Product and Technology Rajneel Kumar thanked IBC. He said: “We at VOOT are delighted that IBC has recognised our initiative to fundamentally change content delivery to our audience via Progressive Web Apps."

”We are thankful to Google for partnering with us in creating this superlative consumer experience. We hope to keep innovating and taking initiatives that help transform the market”

Innovation Awards: Content Everywhere

The Innovation Award for Content Everywhere was won by BT Sport. 

Chief Operating Officer Jamie Hindhaugh said: “We are absolutely delighted to win this coveted award, our huge thanks to IBC and the judges for recognising the incredible effort and game changing innovation that BT Sport and our partners delivered at this year’s UEFA Champions League final in Cardiff."

”We are very proud that our unique partnership approach allows us to consistently drive high quality technical and editorial innovation that is aligned with our strategic vision to be at the heart of sport."

International Honour For Excellence

The highest honour IBC bestows, the International Honour for Excellence is awarded each year to an individual or organisation that has made an outstanding contribution to the broadcast industry. Past winners have included Director James Cameron, Manolo Romero, Olympic Broadcasting Services, Sir David Attenborough for a career spanning 60 years of endlessly innovative wildlife television and Mr Ang Lee for his continuing recognition of the technical possibilities of innovation, in the service of great movie-making.

In 2017 the International Honour for Excellence was presented to Dolby Laboratories for more than 50 years of continual improvement in sound. 

Dolby Senior Vice President and CTO Craig Todd said “all of us at Dolby are very honoured to receive IBC’s International Honor for Excellence. Dolby is dedicated to advancing the science of sight and sound to create and enable spectacular experiences. The broadcast industry is one of our most important partners in this work and so this recognition is particularly meaningful for us.”


Judges’ Prize

The Judges’ Prize may be drawn from the nominations in the three Innovation Award categories, or it may be another project which has caught their eye because of its creative, technical or commercial imagination.

Past winners of the Judges' Prize include Stereoscopic 3D coverage of the 2010 FIFA World Cup and NASA for chronicling the exploration of space, for collaborating with film-makers, for continuing to make the content available and for advancing the science and craft of imaging.

In 2017 the Judges' Prize went to Groupe Média TFO.

Best Conference Paper

This year the IBC Best Conference Paper was awarded to Marcelo Souza and his colleagues Joāo Castellani, Daniel Monteiro and Carlos Octávio Quieroz from Brazilian broadcaster TV Globo, for their paper entitled ‘Big data for data journalism, enhanced business analytics and video recommendation at Globo’.

Stand Design Awards: Best Larger Free Design


Ruwido, 1.D69
The judges said: ”Innovative, eye catching, appealing – the creativity and impact of this stand is both welcoming and intriguing. The stand design awards jury noted year on year development of this theme, every year with a noticeable improvement.”

Highly commended

EVS, 8.B90
"Great use of colour with the logo reflected in the ceiling grid. A very creative stand with good graphics support to deliver the key messages. There is also plenty of open meeting room space around the stand."

SAM, 9.A01
"Walking from Hall 8 towards 9-10 and glancing to the right made the jury say wow. SAM's clearly laid out and fun stand is both eye catching and a strong pull."

Stand Design Awards: Best Smaller Free Design


HP, 3.A17
The judges said: “This space ship experience beams you up into a very welcoming and relaxed stand. Highly inventive and creative use of the space with clear messages and an element of fun. For more in-depth discussions an airlock gives you access to the core. Technology for a mission to Mars.”

Highly commended

Filmlight, 7.F31
"A really innovative design using wooden panels to create a film-like look."

Sennheiser, 8.D50
"A stand providing visual impact, clear messages and a welcoming feel."

Stand Design Awards: Most Imaginative Use of Shell Scheme Space


Blue Lucy, 7.G07
The judges said: ”Smashing cartoon with eye catching graphics. Clear brand messaging running throughout the theme, stating ‘’it says what it does on the tin’’.

Highly commended

Foam, 8.A46
”Brilliant use of the product to decorate the stand in a way that makes the purpose of the stand very clear and appealing.”